Ebelskiver, meet my thighs.

First of all, excuse the poor images taken on my borrowed blackberry. I couldn’t find my camera before we needed to gobble up these little pancake pillows from heaven.

Second, WHY HAVE I WAITED SO LONG TO MAKE EBELSKIVER?!?!

Not familiar with this delightful morsel? Well, according to Wikipedia:

Æbleskiver (Danish meaning apple slices (singular: æbleskive)) are traditional Danish pancakes in a distinctive shape of a sphere. Somewhat similar in texture to American pancakes crossed with a popover, æbleskiver are solid like a pancake but light and fluffy like a popover.

According to me, they are 100% the best idea ever.  I have been coveting an ebelskiver pan since I learned that ebelskiver existed, and whilst strolling through my local Target, I happened upon an inexpensive one (if you can call $22 for a one-purpose pan inexpensive…but oh, the ebelskiver possibilities!) Here is an example that is nicer than mine:

But since I needed to justify my purchase by making dinner with it, I needed to make savory ebelskiver, rather than the traditional apple-filled ones (although those will be next…). So a little research and a few random elements from my kitchen later, and voila! Pancake balls for dinner!

Colleen’s Chicken, Spinach and Cheese filled Ebelskiver

Ingredients for the Filling:
2 tablespoons olive oil
4 shallots, sliced thin (diced onion and garlic will work well too)
5 ounces fresh baby spinach
4-5 ounces cooked chicken, diced (I used Boarshead low-sodium chicken)
3/4 cup shredded cheddar or your favorite cheese
1/2 teaspoon dried rosemary, crumbled up
Salt and Pepper

Heat a pan on medium, and add the olive oil. Cook shallots, and when they start to brown add in spinach (if you are using a small pan, put in a handful at a time until it cooks down and you have room in your pan. It WILL cook down, a lot.)

Add the chicken and cook until heated through. Add the rosemary. Season with salt and pepper to taste. Once the mixture is cooled, stir in the cheese (you don’t want it to melt in the pan, I recommend making the filling first, and then after you make the batter, it should be cooled enough).

For the Batter:
(I got this recipe here. Some people seem to be using instant pancake batter, but these are not supposed to be like typical American pancakes. They are super moist and a little eggy, like the insides of a popover, a really thick crepe, or a Dutch pancake. I don’t see why you would wanna mess with that…)

Ingredients:
1 cup all-purpose flour
1 1/2 teaspoons sugar
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
2 room temperature eggs, Separated
1 cup milk
2 tablespoons butter, melted and slightly cooled

Preparation for batter:
In large bowl whisk together dry ingredients. In a small bowl whisk egg yolks, then in whisk in milk and butter. Add yolk mixture to flour mixture and stir till blended. It will be lumpy.

In a clean bowl, beat the egg whites until stiff. Fold in thirds into batter until there are no white streaks. (Note: eggs separate easier when cold but whites whip up better when room temperature)

Making the Ebelskiver:

I could type it up, but just watch this instead:

I didn’t have skewers, so I used some mini-silicon spatulas. I also just used Pam to grease the pan, of course do that away from the flame of your stove top (no ebelskiver emergency room visits, please!). I also used a handy pancake batter squeezy bottle, also purchased at Target.

These were just delightful. Future combinations will include a pear and apple compote with cinnamon sugar, nutella and bananas, and pizza-flavored, because I am a 12 year old boy.

Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Bread, Breakfast, Dessert, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

