Cookbook Club: Cheddar Latkes and Homemade Applesauce

As much as I try to deny it, I’m a walking Irish stereotype. I love me a Guinness, and a potato. I made these for my cookbook club back in December when we were celebrating the season, and they were pretty tasty. I would experiment next time with green onions, and perhaps, a little cooked bacon? Definitely not Kosher for my Jewish friends, but, for the Irish at the party, a little pig goes a long way.

These are a bit more vegetarian-friendly, and the cheddar with applesauce is a nice nod to my friends in New England, where cheddar and apples go together like apple pie and ice cream (or often apple pie and cheddar cheese – sounds weird, but it’s good).

Also, if you a) like food or b) are cheap, and you don’t have a slow cooker, just get one. You can get one for cheap. With one, you can eat for cheap, often with limited or no added fat. You will make things you never thought you would make. I never thought I would make my own applesauce, but it’s sooo easy and much better than what you get in the store.

Colleen’s Gentile Cheddar Latkes with Homemade Applesauce:

Ingredients for Potato Pancakes/Latkes:
2 pounds potatoes, peeled, grated and squeezed to remove extra moisture
1 medium onion, grated and squeezed to remove extra moisture
1/2 cup sharp cheddar cheese, grated (I like Cabot’s Seriously Sharp Cheddar)
2 large eggs, beaten
Salt & pepper to taste
Olive, canola oil or butter for frying (I started with Olive oil, but I had better luck with canola, so it became a mix of the two).

Heat oil over medium. Combine ingredients, and a drop into the hot oil by heaping tablespoons. Cook on both sides until brown and crisp. Serve right away or keep in a low oven to keep warm.

Ingredients for Apple Sauce:
(from Fresh from the Vegetarian Slow Cooker
by Robin Robertson)
3 lbs Granny Smith Apples, peeled, cored and diced.
¼ cup plus 1 tablespoon sugar, or to taste
½ cup water
1 tablespoon lemon juice (about ½ lemon)
1 tsp cinnamon
½ tsp allspice

Combine all ingredients in a 4 qt slow cooker. Cook 5-6 hours on low.

This entry was posted in Appetizers, Recipes, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cookbook Club: Cheddar Latkes and Homemade Applesauce

  1. Jacquelyn says:

    My husband would love these! I am printing this out to make for dinner this week. Thanks for sharing! The farm families who own Cabot appreciate your support 🙂
    ~Jacquelyn

Leave a Reply

