Strawberry Oatmeal

Easy, healthy and wholesome. I wasn’t sure if I should include such a simple recipe, but it’s like a delicious hug, and I needed to share. If you squint, it’s like cobbler for breakfast! My husband says it’s like “oatmeal candy.” This would probably be a very child-friendly breakfast…I must find one to experiment with.

Colleen’s Strawberry Oatmeal

Ingredients (for 1 serving)
1/2 cup dry, old-fashioned oats
3/4 cup water
Pinch of salt, if desired
1 tablespoon Grade B maple syrup (my husband is from Vermont, so this is a kitchen staple. Other grades of maple syrup will do, but really, I don’t see the point of buying anything else). You can use less too, depending on the sweetness of the berries.
5 diced frozen strawberries, not thawed (should make about 3/4 cup)

Mix the oats, water and salt (optional) in a microwave-safe bowl, and cook for 3 minutes on high in the microwave. Watch to make sure it doesn’t spill over while cooking (a large round bowl is best, I am mentioning this because I keep using oval bowls, and they always spill over).

Remove from microwave. Stir in the maple syrup and then the strawberries. Cook another minute if you want your berries mostly in tact, but just heated through. Stir, and cook ANOTHER minute to release all the juices into the oatmeal, for a more blended breakfast treat (this is my preference). It will bubble and ooze with the sugar of the syrup and berries, so it will be very hot. Let cool a bit, and enjoy!

This entry was posted in Breakfast, Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Strawberry Oatmeal

  1. Janice says:

    I don’t know why I never think to put fruit in my oatmeal. I’ve been looking for ways to spruce it up. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

