Cookbook Club: Josie’s Spinach Artichoke Dip: For Your Health!

The trick with eating with others, for me, is that I don’t like a lot of the things normal people eat. These things include milk, yogurt, soft/mild cheeses, mayonnaise, and sour cream. That’s the short list, and people are always trying to change me. They ask me “why?” like I’m an idiot and I don’t have a good reason. Why do you care what my reasons are? That means more mayonnaise for you! Doesn’t that make you happy?

My good friend Josie knows all about my particulars and she leaves me to them. She decided to make an artichoke dip for cookbook club and knowing that I wouldn’t eat it, made her apologies. In spite of my revulsion, I will not deny others their joy in creamy white foods. I want to like artichoke dip, and for those who do, I hear this recipe is excellent. I did try the pita chips, which were lovely 🙂 

Josie’s Spinach Artichoke Dip: For Your Health!


Ingredients
1 c. Mayonnaise
1 c. sour cream
1/2 c. grated cheddar cheese
1/2 c. parmesan cheese
1 can artichokes, quartered
1 package frozen chopped spinach
1 clove of garlic, minced (optional)
1 shallot, minced (optional)
Set oven to 350. Thaw spinach in the microwave and drain as much of the water out as you can. Combine mayo, sour cream, cheeses, artichokes and spinach in a casserole dish. If you have extra cheese, sprinkle some of the top of the dip for a melty cheesy crust. Put in oven until it bubbles at the edges. Serve with crackers, veggies, pita, etc.
If you want to add some garlic or shallots for flavor, sauté them a bit first. Otherwise, they overpower the dip.
Pita Chips
I don’t have quantities that I follow, I mostly eyeball it.
Set oven to 375 degrees
Cut whole pitas (I use whole wheat) into eights.
Toss Pita wedges with enough oil to cover and spices (these could include any combo of the following: basil, oregano, parsley, sage, thyme, rosemary. Definitely include salt and pepper)
Spread pitas on the baking sheet in a single layer. Bake for about 12-15 minutes (until they are turning brown). When you take them out of the oven, let them cool on a paper bag.
This entry was posted in Appetizers, Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

