Cookbook Club: Nickoleta’s “Actual Greek” Afternoon Salad

Well, I don’t know about you, but I have been stuffing my damn face for about 5 days. My pants are tight, but my spirits are high for all the wonderful food I have been surrounded and loved by.

I am limiting my junk food intake for a while since I need to perform damage control (meaning: can’t afford new pants) and the next cookbook club is around the corner, which ain’t for dieters, I assure you. I will attempt to post more often to fit in the lovely stuff that was brought in the last round before the new round.

Oh, to be round.

In honor of lightening up the amounts of starch and fat I have injected into my poor, defenseless body, I give you a simple yet tasty Greek Salad from a REAL LIVE GREEK. Thanks to Nickoleta and her people for the following:

Nikoletta’s “Actual Greek” Afternoon Salad
I’m going to use her exact words:

You will want:
5 Tomatoes (any variety; must be juicy!)
1 gigantic cucumber, peeled
2 Scallions
Feta Cheese (preferably from an actual Greek establishment, but grocery-store      Athenos works OK in a pinch)
Olive Oil – Plenty
Sea Salt – to taste
Oregano, dried to taste

You shall do:
Cut tomatoes, cucumbers and scallions and dump them into a large bowl. Non-uniformity in size and shape is not only acceptable but encouraged, especially for the tomatoes.

Pour some olive oil over the top. DON’T BE STINGY! Crumble in some feta and add sea salt and oregano to taste.

Mix it all together with a wooden spoon. Seeds should start to separate from tomatoes. Let sit at room temperature for an hour or so. Serve with crusty-outside/soft-inside bread.

This entry was posted in Recipes, Salad and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

