What’s the Aloo Matar with you?

With budgetary woes in abundance, we have been staying home a lot, and trying to cook as cheaply as possible. For me, this means lots of vegetables and potatoes. I happen to have a decent supply of spices, so I went looking for a recipe that would be tasty and cheap, using what I had lying around the kitchen.

Behold – Indian Food!

I made my first Chana Masala (a chickpea curry) a few months ago, and was happy to see how easy, tasty, and inexpensive it could be. My next adventure in Indian food was Aloo Matar, a stewy type dish made from potatoes and peas in a tomato and onion sauce. The original recipe is from allrecipes.com, below you will find it with a few modifications:

Aloo Matar

Ingredients

  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 2 medium onions, finely chopped (I chopped in the food processor)
  • 1 tablespoon ginger garlic paste (No paste? No problem. Combine 4 cloves garlic and 1″ ginger, peeled. Pulse in the food processor until very, very fine).
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 4 large potatoes, peeled and chopped (This is where I had a problem…chop them into bite sized bits, not chunks. My potatoes were too big and took 2x as long to cook).
  • 1 1/2 cups frozen peas
  • 1 cup tomato puree (I used a giant beef steak tomato and my trusty food processor, but you could use canned diced tomatoes or something similar that you have on hand)
  • 2 teaspoons garam masala
  • 2 teaspoons paprika
  • 1 teaspoon white sugar
  • 1 teaspoon salt (I used more salt to taste)
  • 2 tablespoons chopped cilantro

Directions

  1. Heat the oil in a wok over medium heat. Stir in the onions, ginger garlic paste, and bay leaf. Cook until the onions are tender. Mix in the potatoes and peas. Cover and cook until the potatoes are tender, about 15 minutes. Remove the bay leaf.
  2. Stir the tomato puree, garam masala, paprika, sugar, and salt into the vegetable mixture. Continue cooking about 10 minutes. Mix in the cilantro and continue cooking about 2 minutes.
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

