Say Hello to Diabetes with Maple Frosting

Perhaps the photo is blurred because I could not hold the camera steady on my sugar high.

If there is a box of cake mix in my cupboard, it’s gonna be cupcakes sooner or later. This particular box made it all of two days before I dove in and cooked up 24 perfect little treats.

Trouble was, no frosting. A quick perusal of my pantry and my cookbooks, and I saw I had enough ingredients for Maple Frosting. It was not the best frosting I have ever had though. Too sweet and you could taste the confectioners sugar in it too much (why this didn’t occur to me upon reading the ingredients list I don’t know…). Still, it was OK in a pinch, and if you put just a thin layer on the cake, it’s pretty decent. I think some version of this would be excellent on carrot cake or banana bread, but let’s not get ahead of ourselves.

Quick Maple Frosting from Joy of Cooking:

2 cups confectioners sugar
1/2 cup maple syrup
1 tablespoon unsalted butter
1/4 teaspoon salt

Mix. Spread. Eat.

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

